The EU Access City Award 2024: applications open

Apply for Access City Award 2024

The Access City Award has been created by the European Commission to reward cities that have prioritised accessibility for persons with disabilities. Applications for the 2024 Access City Award competition are open until 18 September 2023. 

The Access City Award is open to all EU cities of over 50 000 inhabitants urban areas composed of two or more towns with a combined population of over 50 000 inhabitants. The winner and runners-up will receive a monetary prize:

  • 1st place: EUR 150 000
  • 2nd place: EUR 120 000
  • 3rd place: EUR 80 000

The winners will be announced at an award ceremony during the European Day of Persons with Disabilities conference on 30 November and 1 December 2023. This edition will have a special mention for cities whose work on accessibility is aligned with the values of the New European Bauhaus: sustainability, aesthetics, and inclusiveness.

Find more about the application process on the European Commission website.